University of Jammu - India first ISO 9001:2000 University University Campus Home
Academics Research Alumini Publication Conferences

Centres & Cells
Deans & Faculty
Regular Programs
Distant Education
Continuing Education

KU PG Programme

International Student Programme
Adult Education
Affiliated Colleges



Introduction | Programmes | Faculty | Intake Capacity | Facilities
Collaborations | Research Projects | Achievements | Results | Events | Syllabus
List of Journals

Post Graduate Department of Political Science
Social Science Building

Post-graduate Department of Political Science came into existence in 1966 under the auspices of Jammu & Kashmir University, Jammu Division with two teachers: Prof. Satya Bushan and Dr. Balbir Singh. Two more teachers -- Dr. Vidya Bushan and Ms. Sushma Chowdhary joined the Department in July 1967. When Jammu University came into existence in 1969 two more teachers-- Prof. R.R. Parihar and Dr. R.D. Sharma were transferred from Post-Graduate Department of Political Science, Kashmir University to this Department.

Aim :-

To teach Political Science to the students of the Jammu Division for post-graduate degree in the subject, to guide the students for research degrees i.e. M.Phil and PhD, in Political Science and to take up research projects on themes related to the politics of the state in particular and national and international politics in general.
Established in 1966

Academic thrust :-

J&K Politics and Politics of South and South-West Asia.

Student's prospects :-

Teaching at different levels from School to University, Civil Services of the State and the Union, Journalism, Executive positions in Semi-Governmental and Non-Governmental Organisations.





© University of Jammu, J & K
Copyright © 2010. All rights reserved