University of Jammu - India first ISO 9001:2000 University University Campus Home
Academics Research Alumini Publication Conferences

Centres & Cells
Deans & Faculty
Regular Programs
Distant Education
Continuing Education

KU PG Programme

International Student Programme
Adult Education
Affiliated Colleges


Post Graduate Department Of Economics

The Department of Economics, University of Jammu organized the 46th Annual Conference of The Indian Econometric Society from 4-6 March, 2010. The Conference was inaugurated by Jb. Abdul Gani Malik, Hon'ble Minister for Higher Education, Jammu and Kashmir Government. In his address he appreciated the efforts of the University of Jammu in increasing academic enrichment among the faculty, scholars and students by organizing literary activities on the University Campus. He emphasized the need for good data base for better planning process which would make it an effective tool for social and economic development of the various population sub sets in India.

 Prof. C. R. Rao, Padam Bhushan awardee and a great philosopher and an econometrician of international repute was the Guest of Honour. Prof Varun Sahni, Hon'ble Vice Chancellor of the University of Jammu presided over the function and in his address highlighted the main features of the Conference and the desirability of organizing such academic events in the University Campus.

 In his address Prof Jasbir Singh Head, Department of Economics, University of Jammu and Local Organising Secretary, welcomed the distinguished guests, delegates, members of the civil society, University fraternity to the inaugural function. Prof. Dipankor Coondoo, President (TIES) in his presidential address highlighted certain methodological issues measuring the consumer price differential in the spatial context, as any price change in a huge and diverse country like India do not uniformly effect the various regions of the country. In this context, he proposed a simple regression based econometric methodology of estimation of MPIM from a given set of household data on item specific prices/unit values. Prof. N R Bhanumurthy, the Secretary of the society presented the formal vote of thanks.

 In this conference about 300 delegates from different parts of the country participated. Prominent among those who attended the Conference are: Dr B B Bhattacharya, Vice Chancellor, JNU, Delhi ; Dr D M Nachane, Director, IGIDR ; Dr Balwant Singh, RBI, Mumbai; Dr Ramesh Kolli, ADG, CSO, Delhi; Dr D.V.S Sastry, Chief of Research, IRDA, Hyderabad; Dr P.K Chaubey, IIPA, Delhi; Dr Brinda Jagirdar, Chief Economist, SBI ; Dr Nityananda Sarkar, ISI, Kolkatta ; Dr PC Mohanan and his team (CSO, Delhi). His Excellency the Governor of J&K, Shri N. N. Vohra was the Chief Guest in the valedictory function and Prof R Radhakrishna, Chairman, National Statistical Commission delivered the keynote address.




© University of Jammu, J & K
Copyright © 2010. All rights reserved